Why it’s really really important to pay attention to strangers (and especially the elderly)

Shooting Stars

1-2 times a week, every week, I take the train to Oerlikon to tutor a 7th class (grade in the U.S.) student in English. I usually go a bit early, to allow myself plenty of leeway to get there on time.

Today, as I was stepping off the train, an elderly woman tapped me on the arm. She very shyly proceeded to inform me that she had accidentally gone one stop too far and was unsure about what she should do. I asked if she could get off with me where we were stopped, at Oerlikon Bahnhof, and let her know that I could help her from there.

As I travel this route often, I knew that the return train would not arrive for another half hour, and since she was to be picked up in Opfikon, where she had meant to get off, the half hour delay wasn’t exactly ideal…

View original post 317 more words

Leave a Reply

